Cooking to clear my mind

Do you ever feel like there’re too many thoughts swirling around in your head, and you just can’t get them to stop?

I’ve been feeling that way, which makes it hard to settle down, relax and just enjoy the moment. Why can’t we just tell our thoughts to stop running around in so many directions? Sometimes it feels like trying to find your way out of a maze, but it’s so twisty, you keep getting lost.

When I just can’t find my way out of the maze, I like to cook or do yoga. I was too lazy to yoga today, so I ended up making one of my favourite comfort food dishes instead – Japanese curry!

Japanese curry for dinner tonight

This my one of favourite ‘shortcut dishes’ to make. All you need is Japanese curry paste, and other ingredients you like. I usually just add carrots and potatoes, because I don’t really like onions. Isn’t great how you can use only what you like, when you cook at home? ^O^

Ingredients for Japanese curry

Yes – this is all I use. Comfort food should be easy to make too, otherwise it would be too much trouble!

  • 3 mid-sized carrots
  • 6 small russet potatoes (less if they’re bigger)
  • 1 square of S&B Tasty Curry Paste (one box contains two squares)

Chop the carrots and potatoes into bite-sized chunks. Fry in about a tablespoon of oil till lightly browned, then add water until it just covers the top of the vegetables. Add in the Japanese curry paste, stir it dissolves in the water, and bring the curry to a boil. Turn down the heat to medium, and let it simmer for about 15min, or until the curry is as thick as you like.

TIP: The curry tastes great with short grain brown rice. It’s healthier too!

If you have more time to spend, try making katsu to go along with the curry. I only do that occasionally because my Japanese curry craving can hit me out of the blue, and I’m not always prepared to make katsu. My ‘shortcut’ version is to pop some frozen chicken or crab cakes into a toaster oven for twenty minutes, usually the time it takes for me to make the curry.

Easiest dish ever- Japanese curry

I think cooking to settle my mind is great because at the end of it, I get to enjoy something yummy too :) Now I’ve really got to do some yoga!

 

2 thoughts on “Cooking to clear my mind

Leave a Reply

